Friday

January 13, 2012


Ok so by now I’m sure everyone knows that I’m very capricious when it comes to certain things, like exercise. I get all excited about some new fad and try it for a couple of months, get bored, abandon it and then find something else that’s new.

I put this down to the fact that I’m in love with the idea of exercise rather than exercise itself. I love the smugness of being able to say I completed 63 days of Insanity, or went to the gym everyday for a week, or dug deep and lifted heavier than before.

During the new year trainer Allan was away on vacay and I shunned the gym even though I could very well work out on my own. Instead I’ve tried to make up for it by constantly going for yoga. I went to four classes this week and it’s been three so far since Monday. Which is great because the teachers at the studio now finally know my name. big whoop.

Records show that from August to December last year, I attended a grand total of seven classes —  I was busy juggling Insanity with regular PT sessions, aside from being plagued by the occasional bout of extreme indolence.

But now in the current frenzy I think I managed to get back to it quite well. I have not progressed very much in executing new arm balances and the only inversion I can do is a shoulderstand so I’m hoping I will at least keep going regularly and try to improve on more challenging poses.

I’m a bit ambivalent about the efficacy of yoga versus something more intense like a full PT session. I still love the feeling of sweating bucket loads in a hot class and feeling my heart pounding in my chest. But that could be misleading in terms of caloric burn. No way to find out except with a heart rate monitor, which I don’t yet own. But what I’m sure about is that nothing builds muscle better than just doing supersets and lifting in the gym. So tomorrow it’s time to start training insane again.

In terms of cardio, I found I did very well with Insanity but it was just exceedingly tiring. I don’t know if I can muster up the commitment and time to do the program again. After I finished the program in November I was trying to push myself to do an Insanity workout every few days just to get the heart pumping to the max but so far I have had limited success. The last time I heard Shaun T’s voice was over two weeks ago. I’ll see how it goes.

In the mean time, I hope everyone’s gotten off to a fit and flying 2012, yes that means all five of you still reading this blog.

Leave a Reply

